Saw this on a tax site forum:
HOW TO I OWE 63,000 IN STATE TAX WITH A INCOME OF 57,000
( Asked 02/02/10 01:23 PM in Deluxe, Viewed by asker 02/02/10 02:03 PM, Views by community 5,961 )
Best Answer - chosen by the community
If you misspell words such as "do" or "an", many states will charge a penalty of $500 per misspelling. In addition, a standard per-letter penalty for unnecessary capitalization ($2000/letter) applies. In your case $500 x 2 misspellings + $2000 x 31 unnecessary caps = $63,000). This little known tax law is a major source of state revenue for Mississippi, Arkansas and California.